Thursday, May 20, 2010

A Glimpse Into My Life

Here's a typical weekday at my house:

  • 5:30 am - I get up, get a shower & get dressed.
  • 6:00 am - I start cooking breakfast (yes, every morning.  Cereal just doesn't fill my kids up)
  • 6:15 am - I get the rest of the kids up as my oldest daughter is pretty good at getting up on her own.  I think this is so she can have some uninterrupted time in the bathroom to do her hair as she really loves sleeping in other days.
  • 6:30 am - We sit down to breakfast.
  • 7:00 am - Kids brush their teeth and rush around the house making sure they have all their school things.  I clean up after breakfast and help the youngest brush her hair.
  • 7:10 am - We leave the house.  Getting in the car can be an adventure, especially if my 4 year old feels she didn't get enough sleep the night before.
  • 7:30 am (approximately) - Drop the oldest off at school.  Then we either head to my mom's to hang out for a bit, do an errand if there's time, or just wait at my son's school.
  • 8:25 am - Oldest son can now go in for school.

From here on, it depends on if we have appointments or other errands to do in town.  If we do, then we don't get home until around 11:30 am.  If not, we're home at 9:00 am.  Either way, the schedule stays pretty much the same with the exception that the events from 9:00 am to 11:00 am are missing if we have errands/appointments.

  • 9:00 am - Get the younger kids started on preschool and start laundry while their working.  Work on preschool lessons for an hour.
  • 10:00 am - Computer time if I feel up to it, otherwise I try to do some sort of crafting.  If I'm feeling really bad, I just curl up with a book.  The little ones play in their rooms or have races with cars down the hall.
  • 11:00 am - I start fixing lunch.
  • 11:15 am - Lunch time.  My kids are always starving by now.  Or at least they think so.
  • 12:00 pm - I let the kids play either outside or on the computer/video games for 1/2 hour while I clean up from lunch, deal with the laundry again, and do whatever other cleaning I think I can get done.  Sometimes I end up in the garden during this time too, especially if the kids want to ride their bikes.
  • 1:00 pm - Nap time (my favorite time of the day!).  My 5 year old doesn't take naps every day, but I make him lay down for an hour to recharge a little.  Gives me some quite time to either take a nap myself if needed or work some more on the computer.
  • 2:30 pm - Wake the kids up (if they went to sleep, that is!) and get ready to go pick up the other children.
  • 2:40 pm - Leave the house.  Again probably with some drama as the 4 year old has to be first out the door and first in the car.  We're working with her on this one.
  • 3:20 pm - Pick up oldest son from school.  Fridays I go in and help him clean out his desk and Thursdays I don't have to pick him up as he has Lego Club after school.
  • 3:30 pm - Pick up oldest daughter from either school or my mom's house, depending on what she has going on that day.  She sometimes stays after school to get help with homework, help other kids with their homework, or choir practice.
  • 3:45 pm - Head home. Yay!
  • 4:15 pm - Get home.  Do some pre-prep for dinner, get the kids going on homework and chores.
  • 5:00 pm - I start cooking dinner.  My husband gets home anywhere from now until 7:00 or 8:00 pm depending on the job for that day.
  • 6:00 pm - Dinner time.  We don't wait for my husband to get home anymore.  We used to, but sometimes he gets home so late that by the time we eat dinner, the kids are falling asleep over their plates.
  • 7:00 pm - I clean up the kitchen while the kids finish their homework or chores, if needed.  If not, they have free time.
  • 8:00 pm - We start getting the kids ready for bed.  This can be a major event as sometimes the boys want to go first to brush their teeth and sometimes they're mad when I tell them to go first.  I seriously can't win.
  • 8:30 pm - Bedtime for the kids.  After singing them a lullaby and kissing them goodnight, I collapse at the computer for another round of checking email, checking on the store, checking the bank account.  Always something that has to be checked on.
  • 9:00 pm - I start getting ready for bed.  So why am I still typing this when it's almost 9:30 pm?  Because my husband just got home and just had his dinner and I wanted to spend some time with him. But he's participating in online gaming at the moment so my spending time with him consists of both of us sitting at our computers in the office.  Hey, it's better than nothing.
  • 9:30 pm - I'm normally in bed and reading.  I read for 1/2 hour and then it's lights out for mommy.

Notice I don't mention anything about watching television?  That's because we don't have any channels to watch.  Sometimes I'll watch a television show on the broadcasting website, but look at my schedule - when do I really have time for that?

I am making an effort to make more time for visiting my friends and taking care of me.  After all, if Mommy isn't happy, nobody's happy.  This normally happens on the weekends when my husband is home to oversee the children.  He gets some time with them without me, and I get a much needed break.  Win-win!

Next Glimpse into My Life will have some information on why I need naps - no, it's not because I have 4 children and we're always busy - and soon to follow that will be what I like to do in my spare time.  Yes, I do have spare time.  It's just very, well, sparse.

No comments:

Post a Comment